Skip to content

Application Mania Objective and Scope

October 16, 2012

What do you use more? How do you use it? I will try to put here my comments on the uses (“business needs”) I do more in my non-professional time (and sometimes also that) and which applications I found or I was recommended helped me more on getting the task done.
These comments (and some rants) will be more about desktop applications (85% Windows, 15% Linux, maybe with more time I will increase the percentage on Linux), but today you are mobile. My most critical need is how to have a seamless data experience between desktop and mobile. Read this way: I want to have only one list of contacts, not one in each device. The mobile experience will be Android (ok, add 10% to the Linux equation so). Sorry no iPhone…
In another category I’m putting a lot of tasks into services that you can access on the Web. Translate into the product marketing yada-yada [rant!] “Cloud Applications”.
Some other comments could be more technical hobby-style: how to setup your network, controlling access, installing a new OS, deploying your own storage, maintaining all the stuff together, and not trying to consume all your time doing that!

So, what tasks do I do?

Start with the tasks I do more often, and you will see if some comment some time will be of interest of you…

  • Creating, Editing and Publishing Content;
  • Reading… a lot;
  • Managing Data;
  • Cathartically using the Web;
  • Organising and keeping under control (?) an increasing library of pictures and videos;
  • Controlling the access to the Web, and others trying to get into my private network;
  • Updating and maintaining my hardware and software up and running…

These list will lead to the creation of many tags, but most important will lead to a list of applications (and more tagging):

  • Windows desktop OS;
  • Android and Linux desktop;
  • MS Office applications;
  • Google Applications;
  • Photo Organisers and Editors;
  • Capturing and Editing Video;
  • Blogs and Wikis;
  • Photo Publishing Sites;
  • NAS and Cloud Storage;
  • Presentation (desktop and cloud based);
  • Maps, GPS and tracking applications;
  • eReaders…

let´s start…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

